November 16 - December 4, 2020

ONLINE Event, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Electroporation-Based Technologies and Treatments



Get the book

In memoriam: Justin Teissié (1947–2020)

Justin Teissié, was a devoted scientist and a founding faculty member and still an active faculty member of the EBTT. Justin Teissié has dedicated his life to the study of biological membranes and the fundamental processes leading to membrane permeabilisation, and has played a major role in the development of its applications. He has been equally aware of the need and importance of developing fundamental knowledge and understanding of cell membrane electropermeabilisation, as well as of developing and promoting use of electroporation in medicine and biotechnology. For his work he received many honours: winner of the Prize for Medical Applications of Electricity awarded by the Institut Electricité Santé in 1995, CNRS honorary medallist in 2013 and laureate of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) in 2017. He became an Honorary Senator of the University of Ljubljana in 2015, and was Emeritus Research Director since 2012. Although retired, he never ceased to be an extremely involved and active researcher; Justin Teissié lived until his last days by and for Science. His passing creates an immense void in our community. His power of work, his integrity and scientific rigor, but also his humour, his great generosity, and his availability were exemplary. He was always posing questions, continuously reminding us that our knowledge is still incomplete, and even though we sometimes had an impression that we have done something completely new and complete, the literature search revealed Justin had at least addressed that specific question before. We, his students, colleagues, and friends, will never forget him, and will keep him in our memories. We will remember how invigorating scientific discussions with him were, and how he was capable of influencing our future choices with a simple question.

Marie-Pierre Rols and Damijan Miklavčič


Damijan Miklavčič and Lluis M. Mir

Faculty members and lectures:

Damijan Miklavčič, University of Ljubljana, Slovenija

Lluis M. Mir, CNRS and Institute Gustave Roussy, Villejuif, France

Marie-Pierre Rols, CNRS and IPBS, Toulouse, France

Gregor Serša, Institute of Oncology, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Mounir Tarek, University of Lorraine, Nancy, France

P. Thomas Vernier, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Virginia, USA

Julie Gehl, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Invited lecturers:

François H. Cornelis, Sorbonne Université, Hôpital Ten, Paris, France

Gale Louise Craviso, University of Nevada, Reno, Nevada, USA

Maja Čemazar, Institute of Oncology, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Antoni Ivorra, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain

Tadej Kotnik, University of Ljubljana, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Indrawati Oey, University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand

Emanuela Signori, CNR-Institute of Translational Pharmacology and
University of Roma Campus Bio-Medico, School of Medicine, Roma, Italy

Founding Faculty members:

Damijan Miklavčič, University of Ljubljana, Slovenija

Lluis M. Mir, CNRS and Institute Gustave Roussy, Villejuif, France

Eberhard Neumann, University of Bielefeld, Germany

Véronique Préat, Catholic University of Louvain, Brussels, Belgium

Gregor Serša, Institute of Oncology, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Justin Teissié, CNRS and IPBS, Toulouse, France